Tags

, , ,

matzoh-nu

First of all I shall refresh what was written earlier on the Works of St Francis on the Eucharist as Expressed in his Admonition On the Body of the Lord
1a, 1b and 1c .

St Francis lived in a 13th Century world where the Roman and Orthodox Churches were the Church and expressed, in his distinctive manner, the orthodox teaching of the times.   The Eucharist, we are told, is most assuredly given to the church by Christ, we read it in the gospels – or is this quite clear?

Mark 14:22-24

    The Institution of the Lord’s Supper

        While they were eating, he took a loaf of bread, and after blessing it he broke it, gave it to them, and said, ‘Take; this is my body.’ Then he took a cup, and after giving thanks he gave it to them, and all of them drank from it. He said to them, ‘This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many. Truly I tell you, I will never again drink of the fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it new in the kingdom of God.’

Luke 22:15-20

          He said to them, ‘I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer; for I tell you, I will not eat it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God.’ Then he took a cup, and after giving thanks he said, ‘Take this and divide it among yourselves; for I tell you that from now on I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.’

Matthew 26:26-28

The Institution of the Lord’s Supper

        ” While they were eating, Jesus took a loaf of bread, and after blessing it he broke it, gave it to the disciples, and said, ‘Take, eat; this is my body.’ Then he took a cup, and after giving thanks he gave it to them, saying, ‘Drink from it, all of you; for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.
        Then he took a loaf of bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying,

‘This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.’ And he did the same with the cup after supper, saying, ‘This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood.

We will not concern ourselves with the passages which was Francis’ inspiration at this point, ergo John 6.

What we do discover from the gospel passages is that it is only in Matthew where there is the suggestion that the action of Breaking and sharing bread should become a Rite. We do learn that the Cup represents the “New Covenant in His blood” and notice the twofold sharing of the cups, that is the Cup before after the breaking of Bread and the final cup at the end of the meal.

These gospel records of the Last Supper were written between two and three decades after the event and in between this time and the event itself the infant Church had had time to develop Liturgy and Theology and it is possible that the Institution of the lord’s Supper did not correlate with the Eucharist since the earliest Scriptural records of it are Paul’s.

Hold the thoughts.

Go here to find a parallel table of the Scriptures of Institution


  •  All Scripture references are from the N.R.S.V abstracted from Oremus New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. 2015. New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.devotions.net/bible/00bible.htm. [Accessed 25 October 2015].
