Tags

, , , ,

I Need You

anointing

Over the recent months I have written, albeit poorly, regarding the nature of Sacrament in the church of today. I have examined the Circumstances required to administer these sacraments, to whom they may be administered and according to the various Theologies, the validity of these Sacraments. And what Jesus did or did not say about them.

Here is a reminder: Ministers of the Sacraments

I did this because after encountering a small group of people in the USA, a Catholic group who had been estranged from that Church by its stern doctrine of Human Identity, or perhaps I ought say its inhuman doctrine of human identity. In being outside of the Body of Christ, as they believed it to be – the Roman Church, there was nowhere for them to receive the Sacraments and to receive Sacraments in another Denomination is illicit and anathema to the Catholic of small faith.

What eventually transpired was interesting because they began to celebrate the Sacrament of Eucharist Extra-linearly1. Which was a giant leap forward in faith from their first position.

Before I was ordained Pastor I had done this myself once or twice just to see if I was struck by lightning or the like, still here. Now, that I am a Minister of the Eucharist I am humbled that I am considered set apart to do this, yet ransoming the Eucharist does not come this way.

I have a friend, a companion of the EFO, with serious Bipolar disorder who frequently Celebrates the Lord’s Supper for herself and  also transfers back and forth between Catholic and Baptist denomination depending on her needs.

Lastly another Sister in the Ecumenical Franciscan Order was horrified when an Independent Catholic Priest told her that if a Catholic found themselves permanently cut off from licit access to the Sacrament of the Eucharist, not through Excommunication but other circumstances then that one could never ever receive it again.( Until a priest happened on the scene).

When Sacraments are withheld, held hostages then “there is no life in us” ( John 6:53 NRSV)

John 6.53-58

53So Jesus said to them, ‘Very truly, I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. 54Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood have eternal life, and I will raise them up on the last day; 55for my flesh is true food and my blood is true drink. 56Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood abide in me, and I in them. 57Just as the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever eats me will live because of me. 58This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like that which your ancestors ate, and they died. But the one who eats this bread will live for ever.’ http://bible.oremus.org/?ql=315964982

Everything begins with prayer

Philippians 4:6 – NRSV

6Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Jesus will show us how to participate in the New Covenant in His Blood.

The greatest sacrament is Prayer for it is Communication with the Living word.

The two Ordinances are those of Communion and Baptism because Jesus asked us to do so.

And the New Commandment of the New Covenant in His Blood is to love one another as he has loved us. (John 13:34)

Br Andrew efo


  1. Extralinearly – out of line, illicit ministry of the sacraments by any unauthorized person lay or otherwise.
  2. All Scripture from the oremus Bible browser the NRSV-New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. 2015. New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.devotions.net/bible/00bible.htm. [Accessed 01 December 2015].
