Psalm 26

a48106725949a0db0583a7da2f413617

Psalm 26

World English Bible

By David.

Perhaps when persecuted by Saul

1 Judge me, Yahweh, for I have walked in my integrity.
I have trusted also in Yahweh without wavering.

2 Examine me, Yahweh, and prove me.
Try my heart and my mind.

3 For your loving kindness is before my eyes.
I have walked in your truth.

4 I have not sat with deceitful men,
neither will I go in with hypocrites.

5 I hate the assembly of evildoers,
and will not sit with the wicked.

6 I will wash my hands in innocence,
so I will go about your altar, Yahweh;

7 that I may make the voice of thanksgiving to be heard,
and tell of all your wondrous deeds.

8 Yahweh, I love the habitation of your house,
the place where your glory dwells.

9 Don’t gather my soul with sinners,
nor my life with bloodthirsty men;

10 in whose hands is wickedness,
their right hand is full of bribes.

11 But as for me, I will walk in my integrity.
Redeem me, and be merciful to me.

12 My foot stands in an even place.
In the congregations I will bless Yahweh.

Reading without History or Commentry

This is one of the Psalms from yesterday’s Office of Vespers which spoke to me as we were praying. I have used the World English Bible version of the Text since I have an offline browser addition in my computer which you will find through the link at the top of the Psalm.

David asks to be judged by God because he is sure of his place, he has lived in integrity, has also trusted in Yahweh unwaveringly.

See how he lays out his life before the Lord and is not afraid to enumerate and to state his ‘good points’.

Keeping God always before his eyes thereby walking in truth, our Lord Jesus Christ is the Way the Truth and the Life and the future king David 1 walked in His way. Not keeping company with hypocrites or those who are deceitful, because others bad habits, sins will rub off on us if we frequent their company too often, becoming as wicked as they are.

Washing his hands in innocence so then he will go about Your altar –  ceremonial lavation is not part of  Christian Liturgy, our Community does not even have a Holy Water Stoop. However unlike the Pharisees in the time of Christ, David was innocent before he washed his hands and did not present himself as a ‘whited sepulcher’.

Being pure his joy was to give thanks to God and witness God’s marvelous deeds.

Although the Lord’s habitation was still but a Tent David referred to it as a house, perhaps meaning Dwelling rather than building, but it was the place he loved to be, the Temple he yearned to create.

Communities today do not always meet in designated buildings, as in Church building, we meet in a small Conference Room rented to us by Uniting Care because that is how it is. For the Jews it was to be in Solomon’s reign before a sturdy Temple Building was constructed; yet does place, or type of structure matter?

David continued to walk in integrity – at this point in his life, leastwise, and stood in an even place. And blessed God in the congregations.

Knowing where we stand, not electing offices beyond our capacity, standing in a peerful position not Lording it over others, giving thanks to God when it is due in all aspects of congregational functioning.

With or without a designated building.


  1. Treasury of David – Charles H Spurgeon  On Psalm 26
  2. Image from https://www.pinterest.com/pin/539587599081031325/
Leave a Reply

