Tags

,

26 (0) By David:

(1) Vindicate me, Adonai,
for I have lived a blameless life;
unwaveringly I trust in Adonai.
Examine me, Adonai, test me,
search my mind and heart.
For your grace is there before my eyes,
and I live my life by your truth.
I have not sat with worthless folks,
I won’t consort with hypocrites,
I hate the company of evildoers,
I will not sit with the wicked.

I will wash my hands in innocence
and walk around your altar, Adonai,
lifting my voice in thanks
and proclaiming all your wonders.
Adonai, I love the house where you live,
the place where your glory abides.

Don’t include me with sinners
or my life with the bloodthirsty.
10 In their hands are evil schemes;
their right hands are full of bribes.
11 As for me, I will live a blameless life.
Redeem me and show me favor.
12 My feet are planted on level ground;
in the assemblies I will bless Adonai.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved. 1


Firstly, as I was meditating on this Psalm the other day I came across information querying authorship of the Psalm based on some of the wording contained within. All the version of the Bible I have scanned refer to this as a Psalm of David, including the Complete Jewish Bible with Rashi Commentary which is the Jewish Scriptures in English and Hebrew. This version begins:

1 Of David. Judge me, O Lord, for I have walked with sincerity, and I trusted in the Lord; I shall not falter. ‘2

The issue in hand has to do with the act of the subject walking around the Altar and the reference to the ‘House’.

Adonai, I love the house where you live,
the place where your glory abides.”

Considered to be impossible to do in the Tabernacle which was certainly the Tent of Meeting rather than a ‘House’ implying a more solid and stationary establishment.  Yet the Tabernacle was at home in Jerusalem and it was the place where God’s glory resided.

 

 

 

 

 

It would be more pedantic to wonder around which altar David walked since there was more than one, however I think it a safe bet that it was the Altar of Burnt Offerings. You can see it in the outer enclosure in the image above.

The culprit lies here, for some reason composition of this psalm has been placed during the Babylonian captivity, in 539 BC, composed after  Dan 7:28 ( see reference 3 for the culprits)

Dan 7:28
Hitherto is the end of the matter. As for me Daniel, my cogitations much troubled me, and my countenance changed in me: but I kept the matter in my heart.3

Therefore , accordingly,Psalm 26 cannot be a Psalm of David because David was long since dead at this time. But visit here for more contradictory information: ->

Out of all the Psalms David is credited with writing 75  and Psalm 26 is one of them- does this matter, or help in anyway, does the kernels of wisdom do anything to assist us in our search for Wisdom in the Word. 4

Often it is better to do as I did the other day i write what comes to me though at other times it is important to realise that Scripture is breathed upon us by the Holy Spirit in more circuitous routes than we imagine.

 


  1. Psalm 26 CJB – By David: Vindicate me, ADONAI, for I – Bible Gateway. 2016. Psalm 26 CJB – By David: Vindicate me, ADONAI, for I – Bible Gateway. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm+26&version=CJB. [Accessed 15 January 2016].
  2. Tehillim – Chapter 26 – Tanakh Online – Torah – Bible . 2016. Tehillim – Chapter 26 – Tanakh Online – Torah – Bible . [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.chabad.org/library/bible_cdo/aid/16247#showrashi=true. [Accessed 15 January 2016].
  3. Study Resources :: Probable Occasion When Each Psalm Was Composed. 2016. Study Resources :: Probable Occasion When Each Psalm Was Composed. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.blueletterbible.org/study/parallel/paral18.cfm. [Accessed 15 January 2016].
  4. How many psalms did David write?. 2016. How many psalms did David write?. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.gotquestions.org/Psalms-David.html. [Accessed 15 January 2016].
