Perception of Reception « discoveringandsharinggrace

Rick and Ramsey

 

This week, God keeps me drawing me back to my previous post, Spiritually Parabolic. He whispers, “There is more there.”

When the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “why couldn’t we drive it out” (referring to the boy Jesus just healed from the demon), they did so in private. This tells me they were troubled. It is then Jesus tells them the parable of the mustard seed.

I am the farthest thing from a Bible scholar. Sometimes, the enemy creeps in and casts doubt on my writing and sharing my walk of faith. Yet, God whispered, “There is more there.”

It seems the disciples had received the power to drive out demons. It was their perception of their power which prevented them from carrying out such miracles.

If we turn Acts 3: 6-7

Then Peter said, “Silver or gold I do not have but what I have I give to you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.” Taking his right hand, he helped him up, and immediately the man’s feet and ankles became strong.”

This man, crippled from birth, healed by one of the disciples!

Are we not God’s disciples?

Have we truly perceived what we have received?

My talk with God this week assures me, “There is more there.”

My prayer for us is to, as a community of gentle witnesses, lift one another up in prayer and ask God to boldly reveal all that He has given us. Let us ask God to boldly open our hearts and minds and allow us to truly perceive what we have received. Allow us to boldly ask God to give us the conviction of spirit to do the work He has called us to do!

Amen.

Source: Perception of Reception « discoveringandsharinggrace

Leave a Reply

