Questioning the core basis of our religious beliefs…25 June 2017

This year the Christian world is celebrating, or learning from, The Reformation — the great split that occurred in Christianity 500 years ago. In this commentary Brian Coyne, editor of catholica, questions whether we need to go back to the core basis of our beliefs if we are to restore unity to Christianity and the Mission and Vision of Jesus Christ?

Questioning the core basis of our religious beliefs…

by Brian Coyne

As I look back on my personal religious and spiritual journey there have been a number of fairly profound turning points. One occurred during my final years at school and early years at university which coincided roughly with the Second Vatican Council. More recently. about 12 years ago, when I was working for CathNews, I was asked to prepare a series of reflections on the Gifts and Virtues of the Holy Spirit for secondary school students for a series they ran at the time. During the course of my research for that series I came across a short quotation in the Catechism of the Catholic Church from the Eastern Saint, Gregory of Nyssa. It read simply: “The goal of the virtuous life is to become like God”. [CCC N.1803]

To this day, those words stand out to me like a beacon in a flat landscape – like the proverbial “voice from a burning bush”. They changed for me, irrevocably, what the entire religious or spiritual quest is all about. Being religious is not some quest to become pious, socially conformist, some “good or obedient little citizen — some goody-two shoes”. Looking back, I now see that as the faith of my childhood, indeed the faith of the first half of my life. But who is this “God” that Gregory of Nyssa recommends that we “become like”?[  ]

 

Questioning the core basis of our religious beliefs… Catholica

Leave a Reply

